Safeguarding & Wellbeing

Safeguarding
Thorns Collegiate Academy is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of all children and young people both within the school environment and outside. Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is everyone’s responsibility. In order to fulfil the responsibility effectively, Thorns will ensure that its approach is child-centred. This means that we will consider, at all times, what is in the best interests of the child.

Wellbeing
Thorns Academy believes that success is possible for every child that high expectations should be in place for every learner; that every pupil will make significant progress during their time here. Here at Thorns Collegiate Academy we promote a supportive ethos where students feel able to talk about their emotional health and wellbeing. We encourage positive attitudes towards mental health and strive to ensure everyone within our academy community feels valued and listened to. At Thorns we want empower students to realise their own abilities, cope with the normal stresses of everyday life and work productively as they begin their journey in year 7 through their secondary phrase.

Safeguarding Points Of Contact


Mrs C Taylor
Mrs C Taylor
Designated Safeguarding Lead

ctaylor@tca.shirelandcat.net

Mrs T Timmis
Mrs T Timmis
Deputy Safeguarding Lead

ttimmis@tca.shirelandcat.net

Mrs S O'Neill
Mrs S O'Neill
Deputy Safeguarding Lead

soneill@tca.shirelandcat.net

Mr T Pell
Mr T Pell
Deputy Safeguarding Lead

tpell@tca.shirelandcat.net

Mr E Scrivens
Mr E Scrivens
Deputy Safeguarding Lead

escrivens@tca.shirelandcat.net

Mrs G Sadler
Mrs G Sadler
Deputy Safeguarding Lead

gsadler@tca.shirelandcat.net

Mr M Kelay
Mr M Kelay
Deputy Safeguarding Lead

mkelay@tca.shirelandcat.net